View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

Western presents Drovers Hall of Fame with donation

POSTED: August 1, 2014 7:00 a.m.

Attending Thursday night's presentation at the Ellsworth Arts Arts Council Gallery were, from left, Jim Gray, executive director of the National Drovers Hall of Fame; Dennis Katzenmeier and Troy Soukup, board members; Jeanne Plett, board president; Dennis Deines, member services for Western Cooperative Electric; Darrin Lynch, general manager of Western; and Dale Weinhold, Western board member from Ellsworth.

View Larger

Jeanne Plett, president of the National Drovers Hall of Fame Association accepted a donation Thursday night from Western Cooperative Electric officials Dennis Deines, member services, Darrin Lynch, general manager, and board member Dale Weinhold of Ellsworth. The $5,000 donation is in conjunction with a program called “Sharing Success”. This program was created by CoBank, a national cooperative bank serving industries across rural America, designed to benefit cooperatives and the charitable groups they support. CoBank matched a $2,500 contribution from Western.

“It is one more way CoBank creates value for its customers,” said Seth Hart, regional representative for CoBank. 

“The principles of concern for community are part of our cooperative model," Lynch added.

The WaKeeney-based Western supplies power to Ellsworth, home of the National Drovers Hall of Fame. The Drovers group is working to restore downtown Ellsworth's signature Insurance Building and also tell the story of the men and women who played a role in shaping the character of Ellsworth.

  • Bookmark and Share


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Please wait ...